Windows 7 RC is slower…

Microsoft released Windows 7 Release Candidate to the public recently to try out. I had seen various graphs indicating it had better performance than the Windows 7 beta, but in fact the performance seems to be worse. It seems to be closer to that of Windows Vista.

In GTA IV, I still get similar framerates, but CPU usage has jumped from 29% to 49%. I have power to spare, but it does mean my computer uses more power when I play the game. Thankfully, I am not the one footing my electric bill here. Especially since the computer doing more means more heat, and hence more air conditioning in the upcoming summer months. Not so much for me, but the things that will go bad if I don’t keep temperatures down.

Leave a Reply

