Power Draw

I am curious about the power draw of my new computer – mainly, I want to know how many more things I can add to it without causing the power supply to explode. I want something similar to a Kill-a-Watt, but it seems that those have a fairly low amperage rating, so I might not be able to use one to accurately measure my computer’s electrical usage. I don’t want the idle or off reading for the computer, I want to know the power draw when I am torture testing the machine.

I can easily buy a multimeter here, but again, there are problems. I don’t feel so comfortable sticking the probes onto the electrical wiring, even if it might be the only real way to check the computer’s electrical usage. Just as I might cause a Kill-a-watt to explode, I could do the same with the multimeter.

Leave a Reply

