UPS doesn’t deliver again

I finally finished working on a computer I wanted to send to a friend, so it was time to send it out of Taiwan. I wasn’t sure sending it via post was a good idea, so I chose an express service. FedEx claimed the postal code I wanted to send to was invalid. DHL doesn’t seem to have any drop off locations within the parts of Taipei I work/live/shop in. That left me with UPS, which is available at any Family Mart location in Taiwan.

Of course, UPS always finds a way to screw up once they have a package. After sending, I got this message amongst all the tracking messages:

SHIPMENT IS HELD DUE TO UNREALIST VALUE/WEIGHT RATIO, UPS WILL VERIFY VALUE WITH RECEIVER BEFORE CUSTOMS CLEARANCE

One might think that this error had something to do with the value being too high or low for something the size of the box. It actually was neither. The actual problem is that for some reason UPS needed yet another copy of my ID or the receiver’s ID in order to process the shipment. Since they were supposed to have a copy of my ID before the package even was accepted, I suppose they didn’t have an actual error code for it.

Leave a Reply

