Doughnut Plant NYC

Seoul has several kinds of doughnut shops. They are popular here, and probably the reason all the doughnut shops I’ve been to in China were run by Koreans.

On the low end, like in the USA, there is Dunkin Donuts. They recently had a shirt available promoting the Korean view regardint the Dokdo islands. I bought one, and it makes a good workout or undershirt because of its relatively small size. The largest size available was M.

The dougnuts have interesting sounding names, including mango filled, but the quality isn’t there. The price is somewhat expensive, but the cheapest doughnut available in Seoul.

I’ve been to Krispy Kreme in Seoul, which costs a bit more, but serves much better doughnuts than Dunkin. No special Dokdo shirts, but I guess that might have to do with Krispy Kreme having locations in Japan (Dunkin Donuts doesn’t).

Awhile back I noticed another doughnut shop – Doughnut Plant NYC. My initial impression was not to go there, since I assumed it was fraudulent business like Mister Donut. Mister Donut (particularly in locations that also serve Chinese food) claim an American connection with San Francisco, even though the chain doesn’t actually exist there. Their doughnuts also fail to even best Dunkin Donuts.

I was hungry the other day, and happened to be in the area, so I ended up trying a few. Doughnut Plant doughnuts cost 2-3x that of Krispy Kreme. I learned that it actually does exist in NYC, even though I never happened to come across it while being there. Media on the wall from New York papers indicated only organic or all-natural ingredients being used, so the price could be justifiable.

The first time I went, I tried a "Blackout" doughnut and an Apple Basil bun. Both were fresh. The blackout doughnut did not have a particularly strong chocolate flavour, and the texture of the Apple Basil Bun wasn’t consistent. The bottom part was soft and moist, but the top part was drying out and seemed like it could have been made at Dunkin Donuts. Still, it was something different and seemed like it could have potential. I wanted to try their cranberry doughnut, so I came back again.

The cranberry doughnut didn’t have any detectable cranberry flavour, meaning the cranberry is only being used as colouring. I’ve never had such weak cranberry flavour before. I also tried the Valrhona Chocolate. I wasn’t too impressed, but I can tell there is potential in their concept. I will just have to go to the original and find out for myself if the chain has realised potential in some places. After all, Din Tai Fung in Taipei is awesome, but in Seoul very much failed to live up to its potential.

Leave a Reply

