A Day in Guangzhou

I took an overnight bus from Hainan to get back to Guangzhou. Like every bus I have taken to Guangzhou, I ended up in yet another new place in Guangzhou. Rather than try to return to a place I had been many times before, I decided to walk and see where my feet would take me.
 
The first place I came across was Guangzhou’s Liuhua Park. For people into sports, it is not a great park. There are other parks better for that within Guangzhou. This park’s strength is in relaxation. There are places to rent boats, go fishing, or just relax in the shade.
When I finished walking around the park after a few hours, I tried hailing a cab. None seemed to want to stop, so I asked people at the gate for some directions to other places I hadn’t seen in Guangzhou. Specifically, I wanted to find the Six Banyan Tree Temple. They told me the general direction, and said it would take about 20 minutes to walk there in a hurry. I ended up getting there several hours later, but if I took a direct route, I guess it would have taken me about an hour. I found a hotel and came across a famous tower instead.
 
The famous tower is part of Huaisheng Temple. I only found out upon trying to enter that it was Muslim,  and that non Muslims are never allowed to enter. Perhaps people on travel recommendation sites like virtualtourist recommend the place because they were unable to communicate with the doorperson and verify they are not Mulsim.
 
After I walked past the temple, I came across a fruit shop selling a durian about to go bad for 6RMB (less than 1USD). That is the lowest price I ever paid for a durian. I ate the whole thing, it being my first meal of the day. It provided me with the energy to climb the Pagoda in the Six Banyan Tree Temple.
There was not any vegetarian food nearby, so I did some shopping for Olympic clothing. After shopping, I walked down Beijing Road. It was closed off to motor vehicles and had a very similar feel to Las Ramblas in Barcelona. Off of a side street, I saw several Indian restaurants. The curry there sharply contrasted with the Iranian curry I had after getting back to Seoul – extremely oily and not that spicy. The Indian Chef also micromanaged the Chinese wait staff and generally hindered the restaurant’s business. Things went much better when he was in the kitchen. For example, he wouldn’t let people of different parties sit at the same table, even though it is up to customers to choose where to sit. The chef should learn about Chinese culture and preferences. Next time I will try a different Indian restaurant (there were several lined up next to each other).
Leave a Reply

