Hard drive upgrade

Tonight I finally swapped the hard drive that came with the Mac Mini with a new one. I went from 111GB of formatted capacity to 298GB of capacity. The new disk, which Western Digital claims has 320GB of capacity, benchmarks nearly twice as fast as my old disk.

My Xbench scores rose by about 20 points, to 132 on average.

Thanks to this being a Mac, I only needed to use Carbon Copy Cloner to copy my entire system over to the new drive. It’s free and doesn’t involve the hassles with copying a Windows system to a new drive.

Leave a Reply

