Too much free time

By greenteapanda

June 20, 2008

Category: Education

Leave a Comment »

One of the things I dislike about public school is the fact that I have to be around, even when I don’t have classes to teach. It only takes me so long to plan my lessons. A lesson without any new materials to be made takes me about 20 minutes max to make a detailed lesson plan for.

I only taught one lesson today because fifth and sixth grade students had year-end exams (the current semester actually ends in about four more weeks). That means the other 7 hours and 20 minutes I was mostly sitting at my desk. Even going outside and getting some exercise on the playground is not acceptable in terms of being at school.

Cram schools may have more teaching hours,  but at least those hours are occupied. Of course, university jobs in Korea are much better – many only have 12 teaching hours a week, and instructors do not need to stay at school outside of class and office hour time.

Leave a Reply

