Ma in TESOL

By greenteapanda

April 23, 2008

Category: Education

Leave a Comment »

I noticed my coteacher received some materials in the mail regarding a TESOL (Teaching English to Students of Other Languages) degree. That could be very good for her to have, but something about the package instantly undermined any respect I had for the degree.

All the information that could be seen through the clear envelope was in Korean.

There are many times when I have heard of Asian people who can read/write English well, but not speak it well. I have not heard of or seen the reverse. If a potential student cannot read an English application package, I don’t think they should be getting a degree. The degree here in question is for the Hanyang-Oregon TESOL. At the time of this entry, the western guy is the "Oregon Program Directorr."

I did not consider the University of Oregon to be a diploma mill before, but I can’t see it any other way now. After all, if I want a teaching degree in China, I can get it, but I will have to be able to read the information and application materials in Chinese. I would question any teaching programme for a language if it is not taught in that language.

Leave a Reply

