Open Fly

By greenteapanda

April 3, 2008

Category: Living

Leave a Comment »

Most of the clothes I buy tend to be of questionable quality. That is usually OK with me, since I can repair a lot of problems myself. I have made good use of a 2,000 won (about $2US) sewing kit I bought awhile back. I have repaired or replaced buttons on pants, sometimes in multiple locations.

However, even as I read people questioning why Levi’s would have button-fly pants, I know why from an end-user perspective. A lot of zippers made today are very poor quality. One of my pants I bought last year can’t go more than 5 minutes without the fly opening up. Some pants mitigate this problem by having an extra button on the inside, but it does not completely eliminate the problem.

Being a pack rat, I have kept all the twist ties that are used to close bags of fruits and vegetables here. As it turns out, by putting a twist tie through the small loop on the zipper handle, I can tie it around the thread holding the main button.

Works better than a rubber band, is more convenient than retaping the fly after each visit to the toilet, and does that much more to save me from buying textiles in Korea. The import tariffs here for textiles are 23%, and that is before the whole supply chain inflates the price further. Not to mention the government adding another 10% of VAT double-dipping.

Now I just need to figure out how to fix the zipper on my carry on I got last summer in the USA – that is now broken from clamping the handle too many times.

Leave a Reply

