Wonderful World of Natto in Seoul

I decided to do a bit of shopping at Costco on a weeknight, since I was out of both candy to give as prizes for games in class and out of tortillas to make Mexican food. There weren’t nearly as many people as would be there on the weekend, and as such I could look at products in the aisles a bit more carefully.

In the frozen section, between dumplings and prawns, there were some red packages that looked mysteriously like Natto. When I got a bit closer, I could read the Korea, which in fact stated they were Natto. This kind of Natto, but in 4 packs of 3. Also cheaper than that "Organic Natto" website – 10,490 won, or 874 won per 50g pack. Still about 4x as expensive as Japan, but I considered the price to be tolerable. As far as I can tell, there isn’t any markings on the packaging indicating that particular type of Natto is organic.

In any case, I am glad I can buy the Natto in a retail store for significantly less than it costs in the Lotte Department Store.

Since I have researched it, along with my friends, there are also online options for ordering Natto in Seoul:

Leave a Reply

