School Lunch

As I work in a school, I eat the school lunch. It is cheaper than other alternatives, and it includes things I would not normally prepare myself. Like kimchi.

Even though I eat things from the same plates as the other teachers and administrators, I always get comments about my choice of food. I am vegetarian, so I don’t pick any items with meat in them. What is suitable for vegetarians varies from day to day.  People usually find it odd how much kimchi I eat. They say it is too salty, and that I should eat some rice with it. I think they just want me to eat the foods in the same proportions they do – rice as a main dish and kimchi as a side. But I prefer it the other way around, especially since rice doesn’t have much flavour on its own.

Leave a Reply

