For replacement

By greenteapanda

July 13, 2007

Category: Living

Leave a Comment »

As I near the end of this study cycle, I have more and more things that need replacement. It is good that I don’t need to lug as many things to the US this summer to visit friends, but it also means once I start working again in the fall, I will be working awhile to buy replacements. A few basic things off the top of my head:

  • Laptop
  • DSLR camera (at the very least, my current Nikon needs to be recalibrated, since automatic photos have back focusing and too little brightness)
  • Clothes – especially socks and pants
  • Computer backup hardware
  • Suitcase
  • Backpack
  • Carry-on (so I don’t need to worry about airlines mishandling luggage when I go places)
  • Umbrella
  • Noise cancelling headphones

To these I can now add my normal eyeglasses. They are polycarbonate, but they are frameless. The other day a stress fracture occurred, since the lens is essentially part of the frame, and broke in two. My prescription sunglasses are in perfectly good condition, but they make me look "shady" indoors and at night. I bought some super glue to glue the two pieces of lens back together, but when I opened the super-glue tube, it exploded, covering the centre of the lens with superglue (that I could not consequently get off, despite my best attempts to do so, straight away). I went to an eyeglass shop, but they aren’t able to get the high tech polycarbonate needed for my style of glasses. Hence, it is back to contact lenses for me, for now.

For now, I continue to come up with ways to make what I have last longer. Good for the environment, but not for my own productivity or for the world economy.

Leave a Reply

