Parasols for males

In the past, I often commented on the fact many Asian women would not go outside with a parasol to block the sun. It seemed a bit ridiculous to me to care that much about having fair skin. Not to mention the parasol doesn’t tend to block the UV rays which are the real cause of damaged skin.

I thought I would be the last person to use a parasol, but I got sunburnt during my bike ride on Saturday. I had run out of my trusty western-made sunblock. All the sunblock here has whitening bleach, so it just allows me to trade one type of skin damage for another. Thus, while I am not protecting myself from UV rays, my skin isn’t getting any redder when I walk around with the parasol.

At least with foreigners, there is definitely a market for real sunblock in China, but that market remains untapped.

Leave a Reply

