A different sort of missionary

By greenteapanda

March 19, 2007

Category: Living

Leave a Comment »

Last night, I decided to eat dinner at a place I do not normally eat dinner. It is quite far from home, and I don’t know many people there. I began eating alone, but it didn’t take long before another person sat down and shoved a cup of what he claimed was Coca Cola. Coca Cola in the plastic cups soymilk and pearl tea come in in Taiwan… didn’t seem very likely to me. Not to mention the fact I simply do not like Coca Cola.
 
The first thing that came out of his mouth after that – not "hello," not "good evening," but rather "Are you a Christian?"
 
This wasn’t that suprising. But the fact that the person continued on with the subject was quite surprising. This person wasn’t a foreign missionary. This person claimed to be a Chinese Christian. This person knew that his own government puts limits on religion, but still preferred his Beijing government to the other one. He relied on a lot of anti-Taiwan propaganda, no doubt inspired by if not directly written by his own government. Nevermind that people in Taiwan can believe what they want, without interference from the government.
 
Well, this guy said he was a Christian. But he pretty quickly got into asking me about other people I know. It seemed like he wanted to push his idea of Christianity on them (or go fact finding, as the standard Chinese conversations often start out with foreigners). In China, Christianity comes in the official, government sanctioned form as well as the underground form. The underground form is often made up of cults that fight and sometimes kill each other’s members. So really, neither form is particularly close to what the Bible says.
 
Apparently other foreigners haven’t been to interested into talking with him, though there are a few that are of that missionary type in Hainan I so despise. I didn’t give any contact info for friends, but I gave my own. I will be interested to see if he ever tries to break the law by claiming the existance of his religious group on campus alogn with meetings related to that.
Leave a Reply

