Reversed Roles

By watching Chinese TV here (not much other choice), I can slowly build up my ability to recognise spoken Chinese. Many times I miss jokes because jokes rely on something being said to the listener that is unexpected. For that to happen, there must be some expectations about the culture, many of which I have yet to learn.

So I am quite surprised to see a program on CCTV that has families on stage. The child takes on a commanding role in various traditional Chinese story situations, while the mom and dad have to do what the child says. I don’t think I have seen anything quite like it in other countries, and it is a refreshing break from the typical PLA gun battle/musical talent show/dubbed Korean TV drama/boring news discussion that makes up most of mainland Chinese TV.

Leave a Reply

